My Life · Parenting

Why We Don’t Say “Chicken” At Home

Why We Don't Say Chicken At Home

We haven’t been saying the word “chicken” at home for a while now, in favor of the word “fish”, so fish burger, roasted fish, fried fish…you get what I mean. But how did this madness begin? When did we get to the point where “chicken” was banned?

I’ve got a 3 year old son who is the ultimate PAW Patrol fan, we’re talking PAW Patrol bags, underwear, shoes, toys and even pajamas. There’s one particular character who he loves above all others and that’s Chickaletta.

Image result for chickaletta

Image from Google

Image result for chickaletta and mayor goodway

She’s basically worshiped by her mother Mayor Goodway, who carries Chickaletta around in her purse and feeds her endless amounts of corn. My three year old son equates any chicken in the real world to Chickaletta and refuses to eat chicken in any form. Even the word chicken (when referring to food) is forbidden, so we eat a whole lot of “fish” these days.

One example of this is when he saw a KFC burger billboard he burst into tears saying “A Chickaletta burger.” We had to console him for most of the car trip when we were making our way to a friend’s house and he refused to eat for most of the day.

I also purchased a whole chicken for Father’s Day and roasted it in the oven (I wanted to make something the father of the house would enjoy). The little one was blissfully unaware of what was happening in the oven, because I concealed the front with some tea towels hung on the oven handle. He got the bright idea to check what was cooking in the oven and the colour drained from his face. I felt horrible as he shot me a look of “How could you?” I was demoted from Mom to Judas in a second. He played by himself for the rest of the day and waited for Chickaletta to come out of the oven. Everything was fine for a while, we even sat together on the couch for a while. I thought the worst was over and all was forgiven until he asked “Did you bite it?”

Our chicken consumption has dramatically reduced, opting for actual fish as an alternative now. We still enjoy eating chicken and I buy it occasionally and cook something else or a vegetarian option for our son. What I have learned from this experience is that my son is empathetic to the suffering of others and I have to respect his wishes and allow him to make his own choices.

Is there a food your child won’t eat? Do you have a similar story to share? Do you eat chicken? Let me know by commenting below!

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off New

Connect with me on social media:

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

Or visit my Amazon Author Page and support me by buying a book. Feel free to drop me an email at lindsaylovinlife@gmail.com. I’d love to hear from you!

 

9 thoughts on “Why We Don’t Say “Chicken” At Home

    1. Haha! I didn’t connect Filipinos and eating dogs at all. We love chicken and it’s really tough to cook separate meals when chicken is on the menu. He loves Chase as well and Marshall. I have no idea why Chickaletta is his favourite. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s not all of us. Haha! Only some… 🙂
        I asked my daughter why Chase and I get no logical explanation. I would think she’d pick Skye. Ah, we accept that they like “stuff” just because.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh Lindsay, that is a tough one. It definitely does show your little one’s kind heart, shame.
    Your story did bring me to the story my husband told me once of Arnold (although Arnold was not a TV character, but a chicken in real life) When he was growing up they had a few chickens, Sunday lunch was generally a roast, and that one Sunday Arnold was no longer in the garden. That story freaked me out no end, and I have to admit I looked at his mother differently from that day onwards. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is really tragic Lynne, but it has opened my eyes to all the vegetarian options out there. He hardly eats meat – only mince, sausage and fish. I should post some recipes some time. Are you serious? He must have been devastated after that. My mother said they had a similar encounter with their pet duck. She hasn’t eaten duck since.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lindsay, there are some amazing vegetarian options. I am loving the vegetarian way of eating. You probably will find soon your little one will decide not to eat meat or fish.
        Yes, my husband was devastated, and things like that certainly play on a kids mind.
        Shame, that kind of experience opens ones eyes to what really goes on in the world.

        Like

  2. Similar story: when he was 4 or 5, my brother took a dislike to saying Grace before meals. So they turned it into a toast, where, glasses raised high, my stepfather (his dad) would say “Bless us, O Lord, and these Thy gifts which we are about to receive…” He was fine with that.

    Like

  3. My children have never equated a cartoon character with real life, but there was an incident once many years ago with my siblings and I. We had a pair of ducks we’d raised from chicks. A boy and a girl we named Donald and Daisy. After some time, Daisy hatched out some little ducklings. One day our father took us out to the yard to see what it was like to live on a farm. He then proceeded to take one of the ducklings (now older) and chopped it’s head off, then let it go. You never heard such a squalling in your entire life. We didn’t curse, but scream and yell we did. At supper, we all refused to eat. For days we refused to eat. We all suffered nightmares and came to the conclusion that he could just have his farm life. There is no way we’d eat anything we raised. We grew out of that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

