My Life

#TravelTuesday – How To Spend Mother’s Day In Nairobi

How To Spend Mother's Day In Nairobi

Mother’s Day came and went this weekend, Mother’s Day morning was a bit touch and go for me. Due to my father’s hospitalization, which dampened the mood for me. This was my first Mother’s Day in Nairobi and away from my own mother. We did a few fun things on Sunday that I would like to share with you.

IMG_20170514_135812IMG_20170514_140344

IMG_20170514_135832.jpg

We went to the K1 Flea Market and had a delicious lunch of chicken and waffles. We also had a few drinks, some coffee and the little one had a no fuss burger.

IMG_20170514_142513.jpg

The chicken wings were crispy, the only downside was that there were lots of bees that dipped themselves into our drinks and maple syrup. There were a few stalls where you could buy trinkets. It was a good family experience.

masai-market-at-yaya.jpg

After lunch we headed to Yaya Center to look at what was on sale at their rooftop Maasai Market. We didn’t buy anything this time, but I will definitely go back there to get some gifts for my family back home.

IMG_20170514_203731.jpg

The day ended with cakes from Alexandre Chocolatier. I love their chocolate mousse cake (on the right). S had a cake made of a meringue base, mocha cream, sponge, berry coulis and white chocolate shavings.

What did you do for Mother’s Day? Do you enjoy chicken and waffles? Do you enjoy going to markets? Let me know by commenting below!

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off New

Connect with me on social media:

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

Or visit my Amazon Author Page and support me by buying a book. Feel free to drop me an email at lindsaylovinlife@gmail.com. I’d love to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “#TravelTuesday – How To Spend Mother’s Day In Nairobi

  1. Hi Lindsay, I am pleased you did manage to have a nice day considering that you did have a lot on your mind. I hope your dad is recovering well and that your mom is managing.
    Now Chicken and Waffles you have me there. That sounds like such a fun way to have waffles!!! I must try that (but first I must get a waffle maker LOL) I quite enjoy going to markets, but I yours in Nairobi sound very different with I would imagine a lot of very unique items which is great.
    Mother’s Day for me was very quiet and very relaxed. We had rain the entire weekend, it bucketed down here and it was cold…so there I was all bundled up like a polar bear with……my black Uggs. 🙂 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for all your support during this difficult time. He is doing much better and will be discharged soon. I love chicken and waffles. These were cinnamon flavoured, but I prefer more savoury waffles with herbs and salt with my chicken. Lol. I need a waffle maker here as well. My kitchen is so empty, I’m getting baking withdrawal symptoms. 😦 I enjoyed the markets on your side in March. I’m waiting for hubby to go on a business trip so I can buy a pair of Uggs at the mall. 🙂 I’m so glad it’s raining again. Have the restrictions been lifted?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are so welcome Lindsay. So glad your dad is on the road to recovery and will be discharged soon. Nevermind, in time you will be back on track, cooking and baking up a storm. Hope you get your Uggs soon 🙂
        The rain was great, but still not enough. Sadly we are not out of the woods yet.

        Like

Leave a Reply

