Writing

Naming Your Characters

SONY DSCN

What’s in a name? A lot actually, naming your characters may be more difficult than other aspects of building your story and you’ll want to nail it from the get go. I get just as nervous when naming a character as I was when trying to name my son a few years ago. Their name is what they will be known as and it may even define them. It was an extremely stressful situation for me and as time began to run out I threatened to name my child Africa and call it a day (we didn’t name him Africa or Itumeleng, but we came pretty close to it).

When naming a character (or a child) you can:

I hope this post helps you to choose your character’s names easily so that you can get to write your novel in no time.

Do you have any other tips to help choose a character’s name? What is your favourite character’s name? How do you go about choosing a name for your character? Let me know by commenting below!

 

Love and Blessings,

Lindsay Sign Off New

Connect with me on social media:

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Or visit my Amazon Author Page and support me by buying a book. Feel free to drop me an email at lindsaylovinlife@gmail.com. I’d love to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “Naming Your Characters

    1. Those generators are very fun. I usually name my characters the names on my baby name ‘reject’ list. I used a pet name generator to name my huskies. I love that you used the generator and took the name meaning into account as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

